Isle of Man Team selection for the Inaugural Small States

  • By IOMBA
  • October 9, 2023
The inaugural Small States of Europe Badminton Team Championships is poised to spotlight badminton, bringing together eight of Europe’s smaller badminton nations. Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greenland, Iceland, Isle of Man, Liechtenstein, and Malta are gearing up for a weekend of intense and exhilarating competition, marking the first-ever international team event hosted in Malta.


The tournament’s initial phase will see the teams divided into two groups, engaging in round-robin matches. Based on their group standings, the format will transition into a playoff, where teams will battle for a spot in the final, ultimately determining their overall rankings. Each tie will feature five matches: Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles, and Mixed Doubles.

The Isle of Man will be represented by a strong team of 6 in the tournament, due to be held from 3-5 November in Malta.

Team Isle of Man will consist of :
Jess Li, Kim Clague, & Mia Kirk
Ben Li, Matt Nicholson & Tobey Cheng
The team are looking for sponsors to contribute towards travel and kit, if you are interested, please contact us either via Facebook or at